Refer a friend and get % off! They'll get % off too.

The Walls Do Not Fall

'The Walls Do Not Fall' is scored for 8 part ensemble (clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin, violin, viola, cello, bass). This download includes score and parts.

The Walls Do Not Fall is the first part of H.D.’s collection Trilogy, written in 1940-41 amongst the chaos and destruction of the Blitz. It is, in parts, brutally direct in its unflinching depiction of fire, rubble and death, yet the scope of her work extends far beyond the Second World War. Its forty-three parts dart throughout time, visiting ancient Egypt, Greece, Italy and Mesopotamia, always accompanied by ruin and flame.

It is not all pessimistic, however: like a forest fire, or a phoenix, H.D. conjures images of rebirth in the aftermath of devastation, and often time-worn relics are presented as symbols of endurance, not decay. There is a sense of hope, even if it is at times subdued or desperately fragile. I have tried to capture some of these ideas in this piece of music of the same name.

You will get the following files:

  • PDF (245KB)
  • PDF (98KB)
  • PDF (105KB)
  • PDF (102KB)
  • PDF (98KB)
  • PDF (97KB)
  • PDF (104KB)
  • PDF (108KB)
  • PDF (106KB)

£ 15.00

£ 15.00

Buy Now

Discount has been applied.

Added to cart
Add to Cart
Adding ...