Your Cart

Southern Cross

On Sale
Added to cart

Southern Cross

Banjo Tab PDF + MP3 + Video

"Southern Cross" was a 1982 hit for Crosby, Stills & Nash and was the second single released from their album “Daylight Again.” The CSN version is in the Key of A as is this tab. Capo the 2nd fret and play as in G.

Listen to a sample of the banjo arrangement here.

I find the song particularly interesting in its use of the same three chords in three different progressions to create the song’s three parts. The three chords (as you play thinking in terms of playing the banjo in the Key of G) are G, F, and C.

As you play through the tab you’ll be playing the open G chord, the C chord at the first and second frets and the F-shaped F chord at frets 1, 2, and 3. The “real” chords, as the song is pitched in the Key of A, are A, G, and D, but you don’t need to focus on them as you’re working with the tab.

This banjo tab covers the following parts of the CSN studio version:

1. the instrumental Intro (measures 1 - 5)
2. the first Verse “Got out of town...” (measures 6 - 21) and the second half of that same Verse “Off the wind on this heading...” (measures 22 - 39)
3. the part that goes “Think about how many times...” (measures 39 - 53)
4. the part that goes “I have been around the world...” (measures 54 - 73)

To listen to the Crosby, Stills & Nash recording of "Southern Cross" click the arrow on the banjo image at top of page to reveal the song posted on YouTube.
You will get the following files:
  • PDF (56KB)
  • MP3 (2MB)
  • MP3 (2MB)
  • MP4 (16MB)
No products found