Your Cart

While the Music Lasts by Alice McVeigh

On Sale
Added to cart

While the Music Lasts


“This portrayal of the psychosexual duet between men and women, and of the music-making process in a symphony orchestra, sings with lyrical intensity and eloquent feeling” (Publishers Weekly)

(WINNER honorable mention/fourth place in Writers Digest Annual ebook Awards, 2022)

"The orchestra becomes a universe in microcosm - all human life is here" (The Sunday Times)

"A very enjoyable novel - and not quite as light as it pretends to be." (The Sunday Telegraph)


Alice McVeigh worked for over fifteen years in London orchestras, including the BBC Symphony and the Royal Philharmonic - performing on four continents with famous conductors and wonderful cello sections. This book describes the backstage life of a symphony orchestra...  Life in the (fictional) Orchestra of London as seen through the eyes of several musicians. Perfectly representing the disparate attitudes, feelings and ambitions of a symphony orchestra full of crazy musos, it brilliantly weaves together affairs, musical jealousies, a misdirected love letter, and an unusual codicil to a will. 

You will get a EPUB (4MB) file