Your Cart

String Quartet No. 2 In Memoriam: Aaron Copland

On Sale
Added to cart

String Quartet no 2 composed in 1990 and revised in 2023 is dedicated to the memory of the great American composer Aaron Copeland. The work is in three movements with a duration of 23 minutes. The first movement begins with a lyrical and expressive theme that creates a sense of longing. This movement is structured in a number of contrasting sections that all come together at the end. The second movement titled Aria is an eerie movement in ABA form that features the cello as the solo instrument. The third movement begins with an introduction followed by a theme and five variations. The variations feature different groups with-in the ensemble that play varied rhythmic, harmonic, and melodic fragments of the theme. At the end the spirit of the piece is joyful and heroic.

You will get a PDF (10MB) file