Refer a friend and get % off! They'll get % off too.

Collected Short Stories - EFL Classics - All 60 Tales in One Download

Download all 60 Short Stories in the EFL Classics Collection. Over 15 hours of listening material, and more than 1500 questions on grammar, vocabulary and textual understanding. A wonderful showcase of some of the best writers in the English language. The most enjoyable and accessible way to improve your English, and learn about the wide range of literature in English.


Volume One contains 20 short stories, targeted at the intermediate level. The full list of titles includes:

- A Burlesque Biography: Mark Twain 

- A Christmas Eve in the Far South Seas: Louis Becke 

- After the Race: James Joyce

- The City of Dreadful Night: Rudyard Kipling

- Clay: James Joyce

- Forgive and Forget: RM Ballantyne

- The April Fool: TS Arthur

- The Cop and the Anthem: O Henry

- The Dancing Partner: Jerome K. Jerome

- The Dark Brown Dog: Stephen Crane

- The Elephant's Child: Rudyard Kipling

- The Gift of the Magi: O Henry

- The Interlopers: Saki

- The Man Who Did Not Believe In Luck: Jerome K. Jerome

- The Mystery of Barney O'Rourke: John Kendrick Bangs

- The Sick Collier: DH Lawrence

- The Sphinx Without A Secret: Oscar Wilde

- The Story of Keesh: Jack London

- Tobermory: Saki

- Town Versus Country: Mary Mitford


Volume Two contains 20 short stories, targeted at the upper intermediate level. The full list of titles includes:

- A Story of Seven Devils - Frank Stockton

- A Strange Island - Louisa May Alcott

- Captain Kidd's Money - Harriet Beecher Stowe

- Catching the Train - Arnold Bennett

- Doctor Heidegger's Experiment - Nathaniel Hawthorne

- Ladies Societies - Charles Dickens

- Miss Henderson's Thanksgiving Day - Horatio Alger

- Pigs is Pigs - Ellis Parker Butler

- The Apparition of Mrs Veal - Daniel Defoe

- The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County - Mark Twain

- The Death of Hanrahan - WB Yeats

- The Facts in the Case of M Valdemar - Edgar Allan Poe

- The Fiddler - Herman Melville

- The Land of Little Rain - Mary Hunter Austin

- The Poisoner of Montremos - Richard Cumberland

- The Red Cow Group - Arthur Morrison

- The Salt of the Earth - George Gissing

- The Stout Gentleman - Washington Irving

- The Wedding Knell - Nathaniel Hawthorne

- The White Silence - Jack London


Volume 3 contains 20 short stories, targeted at the advanced level. The full list of titles includes:

- An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge - Ambrose Bierce

- Kew Gardens - Virginia Woolf

- Macbeth - Charles Lamb

- Only a Dream - H Rider Haggard

- The Adventure of Prince Florizel and a Detective - Robert Louis Stevenson

- The Ambitious Guest - Nathaniel Hawthorne

- The Baron of Grogzwig - Charles Dickens

- The Child that Went with the Fairies - Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

- The Civil War in Ohio - William Dean Howells

- The Cone - HG Wells

- The Devil's Wager - William Thackeray

- The Grave by the Handpost - Thomas Hardy

- The Lake Gun - James Fenimore Cooper

- The Lightning Rod Man - Herman Melville

- The Masque of the Red Death - Edgar Allan Poe

- The Outcasts of Poker Flat - Bret Harte

- The Rocking Horse Winner - DH Lawrence

- The Story of the Unknown Church - William Morris

- The Strange Orchid - HG Wells

- The Wedding Dress - George Moore


EFL Classics is a new series of English literature designed especially for learners of English as a foreign language. Texts are suitable for intermediate level learners and above.

Each story is between 2000 and 5000 words: ideal for reading and completing in only a short time.

Each text has been slightly adapted to suit the needs of modern English learners. Each text also includes a glossary of unfamiliar words, and around 25 questions addressing general understanding of the text, detailed grammatical points, and literary style.

A free download of audio materials is also available. Details of how to obtain the audio material are available in the ebook itself.

You will get the following files:

  • ZIP (2MB)
  • ZIP (3MB)
  • ZIP (3MB)
  • ZIP (377MB)
  • ZIP (427MB)
  • ZIP (487MB)

£ 20.00

£ 20.00

Buy Now

Discount has been applied.

Added to cart
Add to Cart
Adding ...