Your Cart

Noa Noa A Gauguin Tableau for Violin, Clarinet and Piano score and parts

On Sale
Added to cart
“Noa Noa, A Gauguin Tableau” composed in January of 2008 and is scored for violin, clarinet and piano. The work was commissioned by MONTAGE Music Society through a generous gift from Mr. Greg DePrince.

The title "Noa Noa" was the name painter Paul Gauguin gave to his Tahitian diary. The composition is inspired by his monumental painting, "Where do we come from? What are we? Where are we going?” part of the collection of the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston. The painting is a large mural read from right to left, which asks these three fundamental questions of human existence.

I interpreted the painting as representing three facets of human experience. The first movement is bold and aggressive representing the animal side of human nature. Its confidence and clarity are an outcome of living through determination and sheer human will.

The scherzo-like quality of the second movement with shifting meters and textures is more cerebral and artistic in nature. The fluidity of the musical line brings a feeling of flexibility and hope to the listener.

The final movement is an emotional and spiritual response to the question, Where are we going? This movement invites the listener to take a musical journey guided by their heart, which leads to a more transcendent and spiritual connection to the infinite.
You will get a PDF (2MB) file
No products found