Your Cart

Violin Concerto

On Sale
Added to cart
My Violin Concerto, composed in 2006 is dedicated to the memory of Dorothy Colman Wallace, a great patron of the arts and was written for the virtuoso violinist Eva Szekely. The concerto is in a classical three-movement form and is scored for violin solo, harp, percussion and string orchestra.

I concieve of my music as written out improvisation in which melodies, rhythms and a variety of textural and timbral possibilities are explored and worked out. The opening ten measures of the piece give all of the essential music of the first movement. Not unlike a jazz performer, I compose in a free way to develop and mold the melodic fragments, and rhythmic figures to create the music. Before composing the concerto, I created twelve scales and scale fragments that I draw from for the melodic material of the entire piece.
You will get a PDF (2MB) file