Your Cart

The Rancher's Second Chance (Parker Ranches, Inc., #1)

On Sale
Free Download
Added to cart

Parker Ranches, Inc., Book 1

A reluctant rancher. A lonely librarian. A family in shambles. Can the rancher risk as second chance at love?

NEWLY REVISED AND LENGTHENED IN 2022! Get more story for free!

When John Rankin’s wife dies, leaving him with two children to raise, he wonders how he can he take care of a family and run a working cattle ranch, too. Annie’s domain was home, hearth, and the kids. Her dying put a hole in his day-to-day existence like nothing he’d ever before experienced—not only in his rancher lifestyle, but also in his heart.

As the months roll on, his heart is only one of his problems when eleven-year-old Callie rebels. Missing her mom and unsure how her life is unfolding, Callie pushes back at every turn, and John is unsure how to help her. Then his friend and farm manager, Buck McGinnis, suggests John seek the counsel of a woman for advice dealing with a moody pre-teen female. He wants to introduce John to his friend, Abby Cooper.

John is reluctant, but eventually caves to Buck’s advice.

Suddenly, life becomes more complicated.

The Parker Ranches, Inc. series launches with the novella, The Rancher’s Second Chance, establishing the historical perspective of the original Parker Ranch, the patriarch of the present-day family, John Rankin, and his second chance at love and healing his family.


The Parker Ranches, Inc. series is a contemporary western romance series written by award-winning and bestselling romance author Maddie James.

Linked by strong family relationships, these stories take place in multiple ranch settings in Montana (Rankin’s Rock Creek Ranch; The Branded Filly Ranch), South Dakota (Sweet Grass Ranch), Texas and Kentucky (Remington Ranches). The Parker and Rankin families—Montana ranchers for generations—anchor the series and lay the foundation for stories to come. As families grow, forming new ranch partnerships, you’ll also meet the MacKay and Remington families, among others.

Parker Ranches, Inc. books are romance stories with happily-ever-after endings. Some are sweet, most are steamy, and a few are romantically erotic. These novels and novellas always feature cowboy heroes and the women who love them—often with complicated relationships and external challenges.

Welcome to the world of Parker Ranches, Incorporated.

Find your free copy of The Rancher's Second Chance at your favorite retailer!

You will get the following files:
  • EPUB (2MB)
  • EPUB (674KB)

Customer Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Star Crossed (Harbor Falls Romance, #12)


Sweet Hart Inn at Harbor Falls


No Sweeter Match (Harbor Falls Romance, #13)


Parker: Rock Creek Ranch (Parker Ranches, Inc., #3)

On Sale

Tame My Heart (Harbor Falls Romance, #6)


Rawhide and Roses


Home for Christmas, Holly Hill Inn Book 1


Lost and Found


Rock Creek Ranch Box Set


The Cowboy's Secret Baby (Colorado Dreamin', #3)