Your Cart

First Three Original DOCTOR DOLITTLE books 50% off

On Sale
Added to cart
Doctor John Dolittle is the central character of a series of children's books by Hugh Lofting starting with the 1920 The Story of Doctor Dolittle. He is a physician who shuns human patients in favour of animals, with whom he can speak in their own languages. He later becomes a naturalist, using his abilities to speak with animals to better understand nature and the history of the world.

In Book 1 "The Story of Doctor Dolittle", John Dolittle, MD, is a respected physician and quiet bachelor living with his spinster sister Sarah in the small English village of Puddleby-on-the-Marsh. His love of animals grows over the years and his household menagerie eventually scares off his human clientele, leading to loss of wealth. But after learning the secret of speaking to all animals from his parrot Polynesia, he takes up veterinary practice.

His fortunes rise and fall again after a crocodile takes up residence, leading to his sister leaving in disgust with the intention of getting married, but his fame in the animal kingdom spreads throughout the world. He is conscripted into voyaging to Africa to cure a monkey epidemic just as he faces bankruptcy. He has to borrow supplies and a ship, and sails with a crew of his favourite animals, but is shipwrecked upon arriving to Africa. On the way to the monkey kingdom, his band is arrested by the king of Jolliginki, a victim of European exploitation who wants no white men travelling in his country.

Book 2 begins when narrator Tommy Stubbins, finds a squirrel injured by a hawk. Matthew Mugg, the Cat's-Meat Man, suggests he gets help from Doctor Dolittle, who can speak to animals. The Doctor is away on a voyage, but when he returns, he attends the squirrel.

Tommy is introduced to some of the strange animals in Dolittle's care, such as the Wiff-Waff fish, and those who care for his household, such as Dab-Dab the duck, and Jip the dog. Polynesia the parrot, who arrives in Puddleby from Africa, informs the Doctor that Bumpo is studying in Bullford. Tommy begins his studies with Dolittle, or rather with Polynesia, who teaches Tommy the language of animals. Chee-Chee comes from Africa disguised as a lady and tells Puddleby about his voyage.

Later, the Purple Bird of Paradise informs the Doctor that Long Arrow, son of Golden Arrow, who is a friend of the Doctor, is missing. They play the game Blind Travel, which would determine where in the world they would voyage. They decide to take a trip to Spider Monkey Island to find Long Arrow. Along the way they become involved in bullfights, get wrecked and even help get an island pushed back on course.

Book 3, is set on the West Coast of Africa, the 1923 book follows the episodic format of most other books in the series. In the beginning of the book, Doctor Dolittle helps to capture a slave trader's ship, then organizes the postal service of a small African kingdom, Fantippo, ruled over by King Koko. Mobilizing migrating birds to carry people's mail from continent to continent, Doctor Dolittle effectively anticipates the 20th Century invention of air mail. Over the course of later chapters, he discovers a hidden island populated by prehistoric creatures, gets thrown into another African jail, invents animal alphabets, and defeats at least two armies. Each of the animals in the Dolittle family also tells a personal story. The postal program grows into a worldwide postal and publishing service for the benefit of animals everywhere
You will get the following files:
  • EPUB (7MB)
  • MOBI (3MB)
  • PDF (4MB)
  • EPUB (8MB)
  • MOBI (4MB)
  • PDF (5MB)
  • EPUB (13MB)
  • MOBI (7MB)
  • PDF (9MB)

THE YOUNG ENCHANTED - A Story of Romance


MY OWN STORY - The Emmeline Pankhurst Story


THE YOUNGER SISTER Vol 3 - Jane Austen & Catherine Anne Austen-Hubback


A HUNDRED VERSES FROM OLD jAPAN - the "Hyaku-nin-isshiu" or "Single Verses by a Hundred People"


THE YOUNGER SISTER Vol 1 - Jane Austen & Catherine Anne Austen-Hubback


PRINCESS WHITE FLAME - The Adventures of Prince Radiance and Princess White Flame in the Fire Kingdom


AN ANTHOLOGY OF THE TALES OF PETER RABBIT - 15 fully illustrated Beatrix Potter books in one volume


THE FOREST MONSTER - a YA Western with action, adventure and loads of romance


THE BOOK OF EVE - The Adventures and mishaps of Eve during WWI


THE ISLAND of APPLEDORE - A young person's nautical adventure